ISTJ Leadership


Primary decision making authority for the International Society for Therapeutic Jurisprudence is vested in the Board of Trustees. The following individuals comprise the founding Board. All affiliations are listed for identification purposes only.

Terms expiring July 2021

  • Astrid Birgden, Consultant Forensic Psychologist and Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor, Deakin University, Australia
  • Amy Campbell, Associate Professor of Law and Director, Institute for Health Law & Policy, University of Memphis Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law, Memphis, TN, USA
  • Anna Kawalek, Lecturer, Sheffield Hallam University, United Kingdom
  • Shelley Kierstead (ISTJ board chair), Assistant Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University, Toronto, Canada
  • Pauline Spencer, Magistrate Judge, Magistrates’ Court of Victoria, State of Victoria, Australia
  • David Wexler, Professor of Law, University of Puerto Rico, San Juan, Puerto Rico, and Distinguished Research Professor of Law Emeritus, University of Arizona, USA

Terms expiring July 2023

  • Kathy Cerminara, Professor of Law, Nova Southeastern University Shepard Broad College of Law, Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
  • Heather Ellis Cucolo (ISTJ board director), Director, Online Mental Disability Law Program, New York Law School, New York, NY, USA; Principal, Mental Disability Law and Policy Associates
  • Martine Evans, Professor of Law and Criminology, Law Faculty, University of Reims, France
  • Debarati Halder, Managing Director of Centre for Cyber Victim Counselling (CCVC), India
  • Ginger Lerner-Wren, County Court Judge, Broward County, FL, USA
  • Michael Perlin, Professor of Law, Emeritus, New York Law School, New York, NY, USA; Principal, Mental Disability Law and Policy Associates
  • Nigel Stobbs, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Law, Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane, Australia
  • David Yamada (ISTJ past board chair), Professor of Law and Director, New Workplace Institute, Suffolk University Law School, Boston, MA, USA

Board membership terms are staggered and governed by term limits under the ISTJ by-laws. No trustee may serve for more than two consecutive terms, although a trustee may return to the board after a break in service. We anticipate regular turnover of trustees once we get beyond this early foundational period.


As we were planning to launch this website and solicit members, we lost a dear friend and colleague, Michael Jones, a law professor at Arizona Summit Law School and a retired trial court judge in Arizona. Michael was one of our founding board members, and we will miss him dearly.


The ISTJ Board has voted to designate these distinguished individuals as Honorary Presidents of the organization.

  • Peggy Hora, California state court judge (ret.) and international authority on creating solution-based courts
  • Michael Perlin, professor emeritus at the New York Law School and leading mental health & disability law expert
  • David Wexler, law professor at the University of Puerto Rico & the University of Arizona and co-founder of the TJ movement
  • The late Bruce Winick, law professor at the University of Miami and co-founder of the TJ movement.


To help shape the future of TJ, the ISTJ Board is assembling a Global Advisory Council comprised of an accomplished, interdisciplinary group of scholars, practitioners, and judges. We apologize for the bare listing at this point; we look forward to sharing more information about this remarkable group soon. This list is current as of March 16, 2019 and will be updated.

  • Cynthia Adcock
  • Michal Albertstein
  • Barbara Babb
  • Lorana Bartels
  • Becky Batagol
  • Marc Binnie
  • Warren Brookbanks
  • Susan Brooks
  • Monica Broome
  • Elisa Buggy
  • Dave Cole
  • Caroline Cooper
  • Ursula Castellano
  • Susan Daicoff
  • Jorn Dangreau
  • Ian Dearden
  • Annmarie Dewhurst
  • Dale Dewhurst
  • Ida Dickie
  • Christian Diesen
  • Michelle Edgely
  • Francisca Farina
  • Daniel Fensterseifer
  • Taraneh Ferdman
  • Rachael Field
  • Joe Flies-Away
  • Mark Fondacaro
  • Elmarie Fourie
  • Ian Freckleton
  • Arie Freiberg
  • Tali Gal
  • Hiroko Goto
  • Debarati Halder
  • Jamey Hueston
  • Makoto Ibukuk
  • Shinichi Ishizuka
  • Emma Jones
  • Michael King
  • Moa Kindström Dahlin
  • Vicki Lens
  • Alex de Savornin Lohman
  • Eric van de Luijtgaarden
  • Voula Marinos
  • Kieran McGrath
  • Nicky McWilliam
  • Muhammed Amir Munir
  • Sarah Murray
  • Simon Ng
  • Luis Osuna
  • Karni Perlman
  • Carrie Petrucci
  • Liz Richardson
  • Virginia Barber Rioja
  • Hadar Rosenberg
  • Dahlia Schilli
  • Robert Schopp
  • Evan Seamone
  • Dana Segev
  • Annemie Serlippens
  • Marjorie  Silver
  • Tania Sourdin
  • Barbara Sturgis
  • Katey Thom
  • Annette van der Merle
  • Robert L Ward
  • Naomi Weinstein
  • Amanda Wilson
  • Tania Wolff
  • Kim Wright
  • Archie Zariski
  • Carol  Zeiner
Scroll to Top